recommended reading of 2012

Looking back at my 2012 posting track record, I realize that I shared a lot of articles.  In fact, I shared other people’s writing so frequently that I ended up creating a new category to include all of my article posts (see sidebar).  As I continue to reflect on how best to move forward with this blogging project (or, if you’ll forgive the blend word, bloject), I think I’m still well within the appropriate window to share a year-end list for your perusal in the meantime.

Here is a list of language-related stuff I read in (mostly late-) 2012 that I think you should also read:

  • Shameless self-promotion first, this feature on CASE about facebook is an important read because: “Our experiences hold some kind of significance or meaning that should not be reduced to the system of rational exchange that equivalence engenders, and that built the current Facebook. We do not live and grow to compete against our friends in a perpetual, unsatisfying game of one-upsmanship.”
  • Utopian for Beginners” in one of the last New Yorker issues of 2012.  What does it mean for a language to be “perfect” and why does the quest for perfection always leave so much room usurpation?
  • Talking Hands by Margalit Fox is not a work of sociolinguistics or anthropology; it’s a story about language and a narrative about grammar… and also a reminder that sign language is a language, not an alternative.
  • This article about the flooding happening in Britain at the end of November is worth reading for the understated tone.  I have just started work on an adaptation of a translation from British English to American English… and I think this is why: “Conditions were described by locals as ‘pretty shocking.'”
  • Style Lessons in Clarity and Grace which I received for Christmas and have yet to examine with much depth.  It was time for this girl to upgrade to a new style guide and this is, apparently, the best.
Leave a Reply

